All countries eligible for implementing the European Digital Covid Certificate are now technically ready to connect to the EUDCC gateway.
Last week, the Irish Mirror reported
that out of the 31 countries eligible to use the Covid Digital Cert, 16 had already begun issuing it to citizens.
At the time, Malta and Hungary were the only two still in the test phase of connecting to the EU Digital Covid Certificate. Now, all 31 countries are technically ready to start implementing the scheme.
So far, 22 countries are in the process of issuing digital certificates to citizens.
The countries that are already issuing the EUDCC are:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czechia
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Liechtenstein
  • Iceland
  • Norway

A corona passport with a QR code on a mobile phone
Does this mean these are the only countries I can visit?
Not necessarily. As Irish travel is only opening up on July 19, more countries will probably be using the EUDCC by then.
Most countries will start accepting the EU Digital Covid Cert by July 1.
Ireland, Hungary, The Netherlands, Romania and Sweden still havent implemented the EUDCC yet.
Ireland, for example, hasnt put the digital cert in place but has a date set for July 19 for it to be implemented.
Share your views on the latest lockdown announcement here or below:
Hungary, however, has closed its borders to foreign nationals for an indefinite period due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Only Hungarian nationals, non-Hungarian nationals who are permanently resident in Hungary or non-Hungarian nationals who have permission to remain longer than 90 days, are allowed entry into the country.
But for other countries, there are other ways to travel without the EUDCC.
The Netherlands havent put the digital cert in place yet. However, travellers can enter the country by filling out a health declaration form. And if youre travelling from a country where the risk of contracting Covid-19 is low you do not need to show a negative test at all.
The rules for entering Sweden and Romania are similar.
The entry requirements for each EU country can be found here
The updated Covid EUDCC gateway map from the European Commission
Countries outside of the EUDCC gateway:
If you are planning to travel further afield, the following countries are still on the list for mandatory hotel quarantine once you return to Ireland.

  • Angola
  • Botswana
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Egypt
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Sudan
  • Tanzania
  • Tunisia
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Get the Irish Mirror on the go
Want the latest breaking news and entertainment delivered straight to you? Never miss a thing by signing up to our email updates here.
Every day we’ll send you a round-up of the latest news, sport and entertainment all in one handy place.
For a more personalised browsing experience, download our free app for Android here or Apple here.

  • Afghanistan
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Maldives
  • Mongolia
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Qatar
  • Sri Lanka
  • The Philippines
  • United Arab Emirates

North America

  • Costa Rica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Haiti
  • Panama

South America

  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Ecuador
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Suriname
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela

Full Government advice for travelling outside Europe can be found here
Read More
Related Articles
Read More
Related Articles